jump to navigation

As I lay awake in bed dreaming …. February 6, 2007

Posted by whatacharacter in Art, just my blogs.
trackback

“The Land of Make Believe” by Jaro Hess is one amazing graphic illustration.

landofmakebelieve.jpg
It appeared above my bed as a poster on the wall when I was very young. I could stare at it’s details, and ponder its promises of many tales and adventures for days and hours. Some of the locations and characters are familiar to all who know Fairy tales, but there were some entirely mysterious, dark and dangerous.

60 scenes from fantasy are illustrated. It’s a feast for the eyes and imagination – no one will ever be able to solve the mystery of what is The Wonderful Moo-Moo Bird, besides a flight of fancy in the artist’s own mind.

Hess, a Czech immigrant, entered his painting, “The Land of Make Believe,” into a competition at the 1933 Chicago World’s Fair, where it won an award in the Children’s Literature Division. I enjoyed it on my wall in the 60’s, but it dissappeared from memory until a few years ago. After a series of failed attempts to locate what it was, a web search finally proved fruitful and I located it here.

Too late for my grumpy teens to grace their walls, but maybe my grandkids some day… ?

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

