jump to navigation

Rhymes with Orange August 27, 2006

Posted by whatacharacter in Art, humor, just my blogs.
trackback
#FF3300 #FF6600 #FF9900
#FF6633 #FF9933 #FFCC33
#FF6666 #FF9966 #FFCC66

Simply Orange. The incredible staying power of this designer’s darling of colors, is worthy of a historian’s investigation, and I hope, soon approaching it’s trendy end. Honestly, orange reminds me too much of the 70’s, where everything looked like a pumpkin exploded on it, especially the ubiquitous shag carpet. Even if you weren’t born yet, you know what I’m talking about. It’s earth tone legacy lives on, and fascinates me in strange fashion.

Disappearing completely during the 80’s, in favor of equally gaudy and cringe-worthy neon, orange again surged forward with the WWW popularity of the mid/late 90’s. Providing a pleasant relief from the neon headache everyone was sick of, it was a warm and friendly color for webdesign, as 70’s nostalgia held sway. Commonly paired with a complimentary green, it still lives, especially doted on by such much-needing-a-make-over corporations as Earthlink.

Now I am no scholarly historian, but perhaps the root cause goes back to caveman days when ochre was a common naturally occurring hue, and the major component of many cave wall paintings. Sure orange is fine sometimes, I mean we only have so much in the visible spectrum to deal with! Autumn harvest, Halloween, and citrus packaging are reasonable excuses, only let’s get over wielding it as the dominating factor of design as still being perpetrated by some. I just hope it goes away for a long time, likely to resurface again in approximately 2016. No sooner please.

Comments»

1. dreamsleftbreathing - August 29, 2006

giggle…that was beautiful, thanks. i didn’t grow up in a cave, exactly, but i’m definitely haunted for the rest of my life by the color orange, which somehow managed to survive it’s earlier years and remained adhered to the walls of my childhood kitchen. it was a sad thing really, so much orange. i’ve since trained myself to at least be able to look at the color orange without feeling sick or fighting the desire to run away, screaming. really, i wouldn’t mind if orange stayed away until 2016 either. peace~

2. RR - September 1, 2006

Ah, you’ve spotted the deliberate error on my blog then. Any helpful hints on how to get rid of my orange links would be gratefully received. They are a mystical hangover from my last web colour scheme (honest they were red not orange but now they just look orange) and somewhere in the template the means to alter them remains a secret. It does my eyes in everytime so I do apologise to anyone who reads.

3. greg - September 1, 2006

Criminy! I thought it was just me! Sorry to hear the plight of the beoranged was spread so far and wide. I hope the folks from my ISP Earthlink would do something and pick a nice blue or green earth color.


Leave a Reply

