jump to navigation

Creative Channeling August 24, 2006

Posted by whatacharacter in 3D, Art, humor, just my blogs.
trackback

While kicking around the mean streets inside my head, searching for the liberty and reason for being an artist, I long ago discovered a missing ingredient vital to the artistic purpose: collegial community. With family and a household to run I’m a bit bound by a suburban existence, but nevertheless have searched out for some artistic cultural comrades to cross-pollinate, and I’ve had to take some strange paths to ultimately find … very little.

Out of necessity I’ve been forced to search elsewhere for the muse, but until flesh and blood colleagues appear to urge me on to greater heights, I’ve settled on hanging with my new homies, below ….

 

artists1.jpg

Meet Seddeler, Kardovsky, and Kandinsky.

Unlike my spirit guides and ancestral guardians who are on sabbatical, or holding out for more pay, this trio of turn-of-the-(last) century cheery chaps appear to be the sort of long-haired bohemian hipsters I could relate to. If Paul McCartney can channel an imaginary painting mentor named “Guido” to chat with while working, I figured I can too!

Communing spiritually, intuitively, and inspirationally with these ascended artist masters offers a range of creative impulses. Kandinsky, on right, gives a good work ethic and creative insight on geometric abstraction, but the Middle guy, while a fine draftsman, seems to go on and on about “Absinthe,” and damsels – advice I can only resist and rationalize these were yesteryear’s rock stars. The left guy doesn’t say much but seems a nice sort whom I can bum imaginary cigs from, and consult me on the best uses for a sport jacket. He can’t sick around because he’s being reborn as Robert Plant’s grandchild.

Being dead, they aren’t wrapped up in money, and can only chuckle that Hitler considered them obscene. I learn that art lives on, and never treat Joan Miro to drinks.

Next: Pre-Raphaelites are being reincarnated as Post-Warholian video game artists!!

 

 

 

Comments»

1. RR - August 27, 2006

Hi Greg, finally made it over here. What a wonderful trio to commune with. I’d image the’ll be a great help in stimulating the artistic creativity. Just don’t let them convince you that every artist needs a lot of facial hair!

2. greg - August 28, 2006

Nice to see you RR! Thanks for joining in on the fun! The facial hair is the least of my concerns, more important ones being methods of inspiration. I told them chinese opium dens haven’t been in Seattle for a long time (as far as I know). I was hoping for Rubens or Renoir, but what can ya do…? šŸ™‚

3. thebrooke - September 2, 2006

I much enjoyed this. I like your style. I’m sure I’ll have more to say once I peek around here a bit more. In any case, pleasure to make your acquaintance sir.

4. Allison - September 2, 2006

Ha, nice. I tried googling Paul Maccartney and his imaginary friend, since I’d never heard that before, but I came up empty. Do you have any links to the story? I’m super curious and might even write about it.

Thanks Greg, and I like your blog btw.
Party on,
Allison

5. greg - September 4, 2006

well howday ~thebrooke … glad you stopped by, and if you ever have any advice to keep me on artistic track, please speak up!

You too Allison! The above info on Sir Paul came from an article I clipped from the Seattle Times a year or so ago. I referenced it awhile back on a friends blog out of memory, then figured I had to find it to check the name was right, and seem to recall I nailed it … only now I can’t find it and I question the veracity of my recollection.

So … while the name “guido” is only 89% certain, it’s 100% true that Paul told the intereviewer (BTW article was all about his fine arts), that when he stuggles in painting, just for fun he calls on an imaginary painter friend, and “asks advice.” This seems to spur an inner dialogue that helps him along in solution seeking. I’ll find it and reprint the good bits, but how soon I cannot tell. Do check back tho’!

6. Allison - September 5, 2006

I will indeed check back. Thanks Greg!


Leave a Reply

