jump to navigation

Stardate: employment update April 15, 2006

Posted by whatacharacter in 3D, Art, humor, just my blogs, life.
trackback

Life is weird. Last week I began working for an online educational company, creating 2D graphics and animations using Adobe Illustrator and Macromedia Flash. I might have been alarmed that they would hire someone of my limited experience, as these programs, while of keen interest to me, are still like 3rd and 4th tiers on my levels of CG expertise … but such is life for a creative genius as myself *snarf* … at least they recognized my “potential.” 😉

As the fates would dictate, this work has become a strange trans-dimensional experience, and I’ll need to pry myself through the goo. Similar to the casual fly-by-the-seat-of-your-pants approach now apparent in my 3D program at the UW (If my instructor reads this, you’re still awesome(!), but be aware that teaching 7 different classes might cause those organizational skills to suffer!), it took 2 days to actually get my contract, and work station set up. I still don’t have access to the database I need. Also, there required some adjustment in my thinking to come to terms with the “new” arrangement (contracted temp vs. temp employee) that has me bringing home a couple of dollars less per hour than what I was expecting!

Still, I can’t complain. I have a great p/t job while finishing up classes.

But still, here’s what’s really weird: like my last similar position in a very similar company, this place is on a similar 6th floor of a half empty office space, plus … my old boss was actually hired the day after me to be a curriculum designer!!! heh … only this time he gets the cubicle and I have an office with the nice view and natural light!

I won’t go into my feelings about all the slackness around me, because at least it’s all productive slackness. Perhaps it’s good and will stop me wallowing in my own slackness and get organized like I always say I will. I have been provided opportunities, now I need to engage the inbred qualities of my ancestral puritan work-ethic and make something from it. If I get slack, I make slack-ade!

“One person’s complete and utter lack of focus is another’s vibrant eclecticism.”
~ Jeremy Hedley

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

