jump to navigation

The 7th Inning stretch August 16, 2007

Posted by whatacharacter in just my blogs, life.
trackback

Well, well, take me back out to the ballgame! The 7th Inning in Baseball has traditionally been a time, late in the game, when a break is needed, and people stand up and stretch after a long, uncomfortable sit. There’s music, a song to be sung, maybe a bit of staged fun … and often it’s the last call for beer!

Life has just offered me a brand new opportunity. Sad, scary, and exciting all at the same time, and at my age, and I’d better run with it – as said to me by the young man on the radio call in spot. He’s the one who said I’m in the 7th Inning of life. Yeah I was actually on the radio.

I remain rooting for the home team, but then again I dont care if I never get back.

… stay tuned for more “interesting times” and announcements!

Comments»

1. alistair - August 19, 2007

the seventh inning stretch…….interesting comparison.

i would like to think i have more than two innings left.

maybe i will compare my life to cricket instead.

as long as i have the bat in my hand and the strength and focus to keep the ball away from the stumps then the game continues.

yes, i prefer the cricket comparison.

2. greg - August 19, 2007

Haha – yes indeed, there’s been some discussion about that, and while chronologically I’d hope to be in my 5th or 6th inning, the symbolic fact remains that in the 7th one can “enjoy the relief afforded by relaxation from a long posture upon hard benches!”

The Radio story goes that while I was out driving around doing some errands, listening to the semi-alt station KNDD, the 2 DJ characters announce its time for “Group Therapy” where listeners call in their issues, then other listeners call in their advice. Somehow I impulsively called, and somehow got on, so I was committed. You know what I said, so I wont go into details (dont know if I ever will here, but one can probably imagine).

It was actually a very positive experience for me! Who knows how old he was, but the first caller was very dynamic and urgent. He said I was in my 7th inning, and that I “was young enough I can still have a happy life, but old enough that he’s not gonna live too much longer … so run like hell! ” LMAO! Then they played “Landslide” – the bastards!

3. black_mamba - October 17, 2007

Is this gonna Kill You? No i Dont Think so !


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

